May 2017 Minutes



Date:  Wednesday May 31, 2017

Place:  Titletown Brewing Co.

President Kelly Heaney called the meeting to order at 1150 hours.

A quorum was declared with 22 members in attendance.

Kelly Heaney led the Pledge of Alliance and Steve Paradise led the invocation.

The following officers were present:

President: Kelly Heaney,  Vice President: Steve Paradise, Motor Vehicle Craft Director: Tim Alberts, Recording Secretary: Jenny Starry, Secretary/Treasurer: Bryce Thomas, and Bay Breeze Editor:Kelsey Helf.  Clerk Craft Director: Dave Kroll and Maintenance Craft Director:Dave Villwock were absent.

Minutes of the April 2017 meeting were printed in the Bay Breeze.  A correction was made to the minutes that all language after the adjournment should be stricken.  A motion was made by Steve Paradise and seconded by Randy Seager to accept the minutes as corrected.  Motion passed unanimously.

The financial report for April 2017 was read by Bryce Thomas.


Executive Committee:   The e-board discussed:

The John Akey Seminar.

New Chief Stewards Randy Seager on tour 3 and Mary Oliver on tour 2.

Jobs are being reverted nationwide.


The next meeting.

The audit committee’s recommendations.


Labor/Management:    There was no meeting.  Management cancelled.

Grievance:   Grievances are being filed about sending maintenance employees  to Oshkosh.  Management is flagging employees.  They have to have a reason to do this.  A MVS grievance about lost time was discussed.




Legislative:     Steve Paradise gave the Legislative report.    He talked about the budget that was proposed by the Trump administration.



New Members:  Allison Monroe and Mae Thao

Lost Members:  Renee Bergstrom

UNFINISHED BUSINESS  Lucy gave a report on the audit.  The Audit Committee had several recommendations. The E-Board needs time to look these over.   A motion was made by Steve Paradise and seconded by Kelsey Helf to table all recommendations except #6 until the next meeting.  Motion passed unanimously.


A motion was made by Randy Seager and seconded by Tim Alberts to buy each member of the Audit Committee, Lucy Hauser, Art Ciesielczyk, and Deb Nehmer each a $75 gift card to Festival Foods.  Motion passed unanimously.

A motion was made by Bryce Thomas and seconded by Matt Vadala  to pay Jenny Starry mileage($132.68) for going to pick up the union t-shirts.  Motion passed unanimously.

A motion was made by Steve Paradise and seconded by Lucy Hauser to pay the bill of $336.44 for today’s meeting.  Motion passed unanimously.

The next meeting will be Wednesday July 19th at 9:30pm at location TBD.


ADJOURNMENT   A motion was made by Jeremy Lindberg and seconded by Randy Seager to adjourn the meeting.  Motion passed unanimously.  NEWAL meeting adjourned.

The $10 door prize was won by Gloria Shermo.

Attendees: See attached sign-in sheet.

Minutes submitted by Recording Secretary Jenny Starry.